Shadow of the Monolith – Lawrence English + Werner Dafeldecker

1. Fathom Flutter 05:45
2. Marambio 01:12
3. Intake 06:24
4. Mapping Peaks 04:24
5. Moro Mute 05:33
6. Falls 01:44
7. Riogallegos 02:20
8. Outtake 05:53


Shadow of the Monolith is the collaboration of acclaimed artists Lawrence English and Werner Dafeldecker. Recorded across the Antarctic Peninsula and produced in Brisbane Australia, Shadow of the Monolith works across aesthetic disciplines exploring electroacoustic transformations of atmospheric, hydrophonic and ionospheric materials. The raw materials have been layered, processed and structured into a record that drifts from dense microscopic cracks to vibrant shifting frequencies, from sections of profound white stillness to storms of intense activity, from intense light to improbable dark and from immersive macro-spaces to non-spaces.

Lawrence English is composer, media artist and curator based in Australia. Working across an eclectic array of aesthetic investigations, English’s work prompts questions of field, perception and memory. English utilizes a variety of approaches including live performance and installation to create works that ponder subtle transformations of space and ask audiences to become aware of that which exists at the edge of perception.

Werner Dafeldecker’s background is in European modern music and improvisation, examination of graphical notations, Fluxus, minimal music, electro acoustic music, jazz and field recordings. His musical projects are often inspired and deduced by outside influences such as architecture, physics, photography and film. Longtime sound and structure studies and the formulation of distinct articulations are in the center of his work as a composer and musician and are parallel to technological developments often connected with electronic form.

Shadow of the Monolith comes in a limited edition of 300 copies, cut by CGB at Dubplates and Mastering and pressed on 140gram black vinyl.

Recorded at Marambio and Esperanza bases, Antarctica Summer 2010
Written and produced by Lawrence English and Werner Dafeldecker.
Cover Photo by Lawrence English

This project has been supported by Austro Mechana
LP designed by wearestillbb.com
Released on the 18th of November 2014
Catalogue number: HOLO2